Michael Jackson Death Hoax Investigators
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Propofol/Diprivan - The Media Story vs. Facts

+4
SmoothCriminal
jpresley
Another.Part.Of.Me
annieisnotokey
8 posters

Go down

Propofol/Diprivan - The Media Story vs. Facts Empty Propofol/Diprivan - The Media Story vs. Facts

Post by annieisnotokey Mon Aug 17, 2009 2:27 pm

@Everybody,

In the past few days I’ve been doing some research about propofol / Diprivan in order to contrast the media story with some facts about that substance. I’ve compiled in this post what the media says (I wrote three little summaries of the most reported stories), facts about propofol / Diprivan that I found online and my comments. The sources where I found the facts about propofol / Diprivan can be found at the end of my post.

Please be warned that I’m not a medical professional. What I’m posting here is the result of my best and honest effort to understand the information I researched and contrast it with the media story. Nothing more and nothing less.

I know it’s long and it may be a bit boring, but I totally think it’s worth a look, so please read on:

MEDIA SAYS: Michael Jackson, already having a serious addiction to pain killers (oxycotin, vicodin, demerol) and anxiety medicines (xanax, diazepam) was also a cronic insomniac. He used the drug diprivan/propofol in the past (late 90s) to sleep after the excitement of live performances and, because of the stress of the upcoming shows, he sought out the same solution. Some reports say he was addicted to this substance.

FACT: “Propofol provides loss of awareness for short diagnostic tests and surgical procedures, sleep at the beginning of surgery,
and supplements other types of general anesthetics.”

COMMENT: Therefore, if it’s normally used for short procedures, I don’t think it would be the drug of choice to obtain 8 hour-sleep-nights.